IF Gathering at PAX East 2012?

Hello all. I am new to this forum. I have enjoyed IF as a player for a long time, and I also enjoy creative writing. Recently, I have been thinking about writing an IF story. I signed up to go to PAX east with the hope of meeting other IF enthusiasts and learning a thing or two from some authors. Will there be IF activities at PAX East this year? Can anyone tell me when and where? I have looked around the net, and could not find anything, but I am still new to all this. Thank you for any help.

There are no IF events planned at PAX East this year. (After the previous two years, in which the same set of people shouldered the bulk of the organisation, I think they deserve a break; and there’s been a general feeling that PAX isn’t the greatest match for the IF crowd anyway.)

If you’re in Boston anyway, there’s always http://pr-if.org/ meetups.

The Purple Blurb symposium (hosted by Nick Montfort’s group at MIT) is having an “Open Mouse / Open Mic” event the day after PAX:

Monday, April 9; 5:30 pm; MIT room 6-120

“Please join us for an open mic featuring D1G1T4L WR1T1NG for a variety of platforms, from immersive projections by Ari Kalinowski to generative fiction for the iPad by Alexandra Chasin… Bring video art, interactive fiction, SMS poems, hypertext fiction and poetry, text generators, and any form of electronic literature you’ve got up your sleeve! This event is co-sponsored by the Electronic Literature Organization.”

(Original post: nickm.com/post/2012/03/purple-bl … ke-canada/ )

That will be a good place for IF fans to meet up; we can have dinner afterwards. I intend to bring something (not necessarily IF) to present for the event.

As for PR-IF, we have not yet scheduled our April meeting. It’s likely to be later in the month, though.