IF being used in education

Hello everyone

I would like to explore the use of IF in education. Are you aware of any related applications / publications?

As I am new to the field, I was wondering if there are any specific terms I should use during my research to retrieve more accurate results?

Looking forward to hearing from you

Here are some resources to do with how Inform has been used in education. I know other tools have been as well, particularly Twine and Quest, so those might be search terms that turn up interesting results also.

http://inform7.com/teach/
http://inform7.com/news/category/education/

You probably want to have a chat with DavidC of TextFyre and Alex the Quest developer.

Textfyre is/was an attempt to bring IF-related material to the classroom. I still think this is an extremely viable solution, but working into classrooms requires a complex set of resources and effort. In seven years I have failed at pulling those resources together. I was just at a meetup a couple of weeks ago with some industry leaders. It was a small gathering and one of the speakers was quoted as saying, “we need an adaptable, engaging, interactive curriculum that has formative (embedded) assessment for both the student and teacher”.

I wanted to shout, “HEY THAT’S WHAT I DID!”, but I really don’t have the entire thing put “together”. I have pieces. Missing some pieces I could build myself in time and missing other pieces that really requires an experienced curriculum developer.

Ed-tech is hard. Your mileage may vary.

David C.
www.textfyre.com