IF as a tool for learning foreign language?

I studied German at school and are there are a great number of German interactive fictions; similarly, I’d like to learn Spanish and there are a great number of Spanish interactive fictions. It’d be great to be able to work through some of these games, learning as I go. However, there’s a substantial barrier to getting started: knowing the required vocabulary to be able to interact with the games even on a basic level.

It would be really cool if there was something like the IF-For-Beginners Postcard for playing games in different languages, especially as IF conventions might differ in different languages (it might not be as simple as me looking up what the word for ‘inventory’ and so on is).

What do people think?

I think there are postcards in French, Russian, German and Spanish, at least according to this post of Emily’s. (Edit: and Italian.)

Aha, here’s the Spanish one. All the language variants are listed at the card’s PR-IF page.

Ask and you shall receive! That’s fantastic. On the Spanish postcard it seems to indicate that both ‘O’ and ‘W’ work for west (I presume that the ‘o’ stands for the Spanish version of ‘occidental’).

That – or “oeste” …

Erm… yeah that would work too.

Hey Felix, can you think of another language?

I could make a Swedish one but I’m not sure what the standard commands are. I’ll go play some games first…

There are so few IF games in Swedish, I’m not sure there is a command set that is really standard. If there is, it’s the one in Fredrik Ramsberg’s Swedish I6 library. With one exception (the abbreviation “L” for “lista”), they will work with the Swedish I7 translation as well. (I kept the “L” for looking, as I figured even Swedish players would likely be more used to the English abbreviation than to the Swedish one – maybe that was a bad choice.)