[I7] Questions about Wearing items.

Hey guys. I’ve not been using Inform for long, maybe about a week, but I’ve had plenty of experience with Actionscript. So I’m having a bit of trouble finding my footing with regards to stepping from strict languages to a language which lets you write what you want some of the time but not others. It’s a little… odd.

But my question is one that if my thoughts are proved correct, looks like a tricky one to solve.
I’ve got it so that every person has a value called strength, which defaults at 15, and an “After wearing…” section that writes who wore a piece of armour and to increase their strength by 20.
I also have an “After giving…” section to make NPCs prioritise wearing something they’ve been given instead of just holding on to it.
Now I’ve noticed that when the player wears the armour their strength goes up by 20. But when my NPC (called Barron Von Tinkletine) wears the armour his stat doesn’t increase.
I figure this is because After giving something (called gift) to someone (called giftreciever): now giftreciever wears the gift; doesn’t emulate the player activating the “Wear X” command for the NPC, but instead forces this new state instantly and therefore not firing the “After wearing…” section.
So the player is putting on the armour, but the Barron is having his armour suddenly appear on him. Am I correct?
And if so/not; how do I go about amending this to work so that whenever a player or NPC put on clothing their stats change?
If you guys know of any part of the documentation to point me to or have any advice I’d appreciate it.
Thanks. =)

I’m no expert, but I believe something like

try giftreceiver putting on the gift; should work.

This also covers any cases in the future where giftreceiver might not be able to put on the gift (they’re already wearing too much, have one of those, etc.), should you choose to implement something like that in future.