I7: Formatting output text into columns

I was trying to print some output text into something resembling columns, but have been having so much difficulty I’m sure I must be blatantly overlooking something; after all, Inform is a program whose sole focus is text, so surely there is a simple way to accomplish what I want.

Let’s look at an example. I have some simple information that I want listed in a column format, and after searching the Inform manual I couldn’t find a discussion of the subject anywhere so I started playing around and wrote the following example. Let’s also stipulate that I’m completely unconcerned that attempting to output text in columns will mean any end-user will experience frustratingly undreadable text while trying to play my game on their iPhone, or using that old 7" CRT monitor they just dug out of their closet, or while resizing the game window to a tiny area occupying 1/45 of the display space on their normal-sized monitor.

[code]The testarea is a room.

Infochecking is an action applying to nothing. Understand “infocheck” as infochecking.

Report infochecking:
say “Value A: [a random number from 1 to 100] Value B: [a random number from 1 to 100][line break]Value C: [a random number from 1 to 200] Value D: [a random number from 1 to 100][line break]Value E: [a random number from 1 to 200] Value F: [a random number from 1 to 100]”;
say paragraph break.[/code]
Although I knew before ever hitting “Go” that the above would be unsatisfactory, for the sake of thoroughness let’s note that the output looks like:

>infocheck Value A: 66 Value B: 44 Value C: 126 Value D: 26 Value E: 132 Value F: 100
I had an idea that since all the variable output was to be a number of three digits or less, I could “typeset” the output by inserting a variable number of spaces between the statements of each output line if I also switched to fixed-letter spacing. So I got rid of the first code and wrote this: