[I7] Combining items into a new one

Hi! I’m a total novice to Inform and I just spent close to a full afternoon digging through the documentation and these forums to find out how to perform such a common task in IF - combining/using items together. So I’m sorry if this is really obvious but I can’t really figure it out!

The situation is as follows: I’m trying to setup a very simple puzzle in which the player must combine a rope, a shovel head and a stick to build a makeshift shovel. I’ve been trying lots of combinations, but the latest was:

If the player joins the rope with the stick and the shovel head: say "You join the stick and the shovel head with the rope, making some kind of primitive spade."; the player now carries a spade; remove rope, stick and shovel head from play;

Thank you guys for any assistance! :wink:

(Edited with a better code, last one was very confusing. Still giving me errors though.)

Okay, there is a lot to answer here.

First point: look at the docs to find out what the wording is. You wrote “the player now carries a spade”; it should be “now the player carries a spade”. You may want to be loosey-goosey like that because it’s “English”, but it ain’t English, and you have to be careful about that stuff.

Second: when you’re writing an action rule, it doesn’t begin with “if”. An action rule starts “Instead of ACTIONing…”

Which leads into the third point: you have to know what action you are customizing. There is no “joining” action. If you look through the Index tab, you’ll see a “tying” action, which is closest to what you want. (Verbs for this: “tie”, “fasten”, “attach”.) If the library doesn’t have an action you want, you can define a new one, but in this case it does have one.

Fourth point: Inform generally only handles a verb and two nouns. (There are ways to work around this, but don’t get into it in your first programming exercise, okay?) So let’s simplify this to “attach stick to shovel head”.

The player carries the shovel head.