[I7] Coding my cat

Hello, I’m relatively new to writing IF, and to inform, and well, everything that is not zork. I’m working on a small game for my wife for our anniversary (not for about a year, so I’ve got time to work on it) but I’m struggling with how I might implement… our cat (well, one of them).

I borrowed some code from the manual to make them wander around for awhile (like Artemis in the examples), but I would like to have this particular cat… well, barf on the carpet. It’s not a particularly endearing habit of his, but it’s become a bit of a joke between my wife and I, so she would really laugh if she experienced the joy that is cat barf in the game as well.

I tried:

Every turn: If a random chance of 1 in 25 succeeds: now the location of the barf is the location of umlaut [he's the cat]; continue the action.

But I can’t seem to get past the fact that Inform really doesn’t want to do that. (various changes in the word order change the error message, but it’s all basically saying that it doesn’t like the syntax for my “now” phrase.). I do have a “the barf is an item that is in cat-limbo” statement earlier on, so the barf exists, I just want it moved into play. (actually, I’m trying to create a mechanic where there can be up to say 15 barfs in play at any time, and when she cleans one up, it goes back to the queue to be redistributed.

Does anyone have any thoughts? I’d appreciate some help :smiley:

Try “now the barf is in the location of umlaut”.

You can’t change “the location of the barf” directly – that’s something Inform figures out by looking where the barf is. Compare “now the temperature plus 2 is 3” – we know that means the temperature has to be 1, but Inform would rather have us tell it that the temperature is 1.

You can also use this.

move the barf to the location of umlaut;

Hope this helps.

Hey, thanks!

It did help… Until I broke it again. :confused:

This is what I’ve got (in total) for Umlaut: