I6: how to access prompt line (before enter)

Hi!

I’m trying to set a (real time) timer to periodically check out if the player has written anything on the command prompt (before hitting enter)… I tampered with DM4 exercises 131 & 132 and tried to access @input_stream 0 (keyboard) but I failed. Any suggestions?

I’m a noob with no answer for you.

But I am curious why you’d want to do this. When playing a text game, I expect that any text I type will not affect the game until I press enter to finalize it. It seems like that would throw a wrench in the immersion if I had any awareness of it–I might become self-conscious about the act of typing which isn’t something I’d normally focus on.

It might be worth reading the technical details about @aread. Otherwise post your code, so we can see what you’ve tried.

I just want to know if the prompt line is empty, like so:

_

…And if it is long enough (empty), the game would just pass a “wait” command, like this:

z
Time passes…

Why I’m trying this, is to have some intermediate solution to having some kind of “real time” fun with the game.
I’ll also look more into documentation and and pass some game code here at once its informative (its not yet!)
Thanks already!!!

Quick implementation:

! This "Replace" line must go before the Include Parser.
Replace KeyboardPrimitive;

! Put this routine after the Include Parser.
[ KeyboardPrimitive  a_buffer a_table res seconds;
	a_buffer->1 = 0;
	seconds = 0;
	while (1) {
		@aread a_buffer a_table 10 callback -> res;
		! If res is a return char, input is really over.
		if (res ~= 0)
			return;
		seconds++;
		if (seconds > 3) {
			a_buffer->1 = 1;
			a_buffer->2 = 'z';
			@tokenise a_buffer a_table;
			print "(I'm bored.)^";
			return;
		}
		! Now restart input.
	}
];

[ callback;
  rtrue;
];