Hyperlink Interface -- Wrong Kind of Value

I started using the “Hyperlink Interface” extension just to see what it does. What it currently does is fail upon compile, with the error: “You wrote ‘carry out the direction hyperlinking activity’, but ‘direction hyperlinking’ has the wrong kind of value: an activity on objects rather than an activity.”

Verbally I think I understand what’s trying to tell me but it’s not clear what to do to fix it. I can certainly ram through the manual and try to figure it out but I’m hoping someone else has run into this and can short-circuit my path.

(Incidentally, for the InformDev team is it a requirement that extensions must at least be able to compile prior to inclusion in the repo? I’m just getting into extensions and this is the first one I’ve tried so now I’m nervous I’m going to be spending time wading through someone else’s bugs. I’m sure I’ll have enough of my own. :slight_smile: )

I was able to solve the immediate problem by commenting out the word “something”:

Direction hyperlinking [something] is an activity.

But at that point I get another error, something to do with printing parser errors. This topic has been poked at in this forum, but I don’t remember offhand how to fix the problem.

This extension antedates the most recent Inform build, and that is the most likely source of the problem. As to whether anyone goes through all of the published extensions before a release in order to figure out whether they’re compatible with a new build – it is very unlikely.

Does anyone even run a new extension when an author submits it? I don’t know. It would be nice to think that that minimal step, at least, is being taken.