How to Parse a User Prompt Input "Mike-03-00-25" into Four Variables?

I am new to Twine and I am planning to use the default Harlowe engine.

I have a user prompt to input a string in this format “AAAA-##-##-##” (for example, “Mike-03-00-25”) which will be stored in variable m.
(set:$m to (prompt:“Enter your code:”,“Mike-03-00-25”))

I want to split m into four variables, a, b, c, and d, where a is a string storing “Mike”, and b c d are number variables, 3 0 and 25.

How can I do that?
Thank you.

You can use the (split:) macro to break down the String based input into its four elements…

(set: $m to "Mike-03-00-25")
(set: _elements to (split: '-', $m))

debug: Input "$m" consists of (print: _elements's length) elements: (print: _elements)

…and then use the (num:) macro to convert the 2nd to 4th String elements into Numbers…

(set: $a to _elements's 1st)
(set: $b to (num: _elements's 2nd))
(set: $c to (num: _elements's 3rd))
(set: $d to (num: _elements's 4th))

debug: String: $a; Number 1: $b; Number 2: $c; Number 3: $d

WARNING:
The (num:) macro will throw an error if the String value passed to it contains any characters that are not numerical related!
eg. any characters other than the following will likely cause such an error

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 . -

And there is no simple way to force the end-user into entering a String value with the “AAAA-##-##-##” format you want.

2 Likes

Thanks so much for your reply.
Is there a way to test before the error occurs (total number of components in _elements is not 4 or the user enters a non-numeric value in ##s), and return to the prompt to let the user enter it again?

Thanks again.

I am not too familiar with Harlowe, but you could use the dropdown feature to give users a limited set of choices for the numerical values.

My two previous examples didn’t include any error catching code in them mostly because without an example of your current code I don’t fully know what potential errors may occur.