How do I make changing passages and Npc

Twine Version: 2.3.15
Story Format: Sugarcube v2

Hi, I'm working on my very first game and I'm very new to basically everything. 
My question is how do I get NPC to move passages or how do I show different events in passages?
The games that have this feature are the company and young maria. 
Should I be making the passages as I got to feature the characters? but then how does that work if I need the player to go to the kitchen multiple times and for different things to happen.

edit: also im really confused on how i would make this code work, its a shop of my game
Math Book $20 <<link "Buy" "passage()">><<set $money -= 20>><<addToInv "Mathematics Book">><</link>>

There’s literally an infinite number of different ways you could do this, so the best way to do it greatly depends upon exactly what you want to do.

I note that both “The Company” and “Young Maria” are Twine games, so you could actually just import their HTML files into the Twine editor to see their code and how they do different things.

Speaking very generally, you’ll use story variables to track data during the game, and then you can use macros, like the <<if>> macro, to make different things happen based on the data in those variables. You can also use the SugarCube random() function if you want to make things happen randomly.

Now, I apologize for getting technical for a moment, but this is useful information, and it should hopefully become clear by the end.

For example, you could create an NPC like this:

<<set $NPC = []>>  /* Creates an array for multiple NPCs */
<<run $NPC.push( { name: "Anne", location: "Passage X" } )>> /* Adds an NPC to the array */

That creates an array, and then adds a generic object to that array, which holds a name and location for that NPC. The .push() method is a way of adding data to the end of an array.