How could I go about making a functional Equipment Slot system(Sugarcube2)

So I have begun to notice that I have been making sooooo many things in my storyinit passage, especially long strings of sets, like<<set $copperAmethystRing to "Copper, Amethyst Ring">> or <<set $dragonscaledaggersEquip to false>> I have a feeling I will eventually loose track of it all if I don’t find a way to condense it all into sections like maybe <<set $copper.Amethyst.Ring>> or perhaps it would be <<set $Ring.copper.Amethyst>>? and <<set $Equip.dragonscale.daggers>>? but in any case I’m in need of a condense all, with a way to display what equipment the player has in there inventory and what is equipped at that time. I have an inventory passage to store the items that will be displayed and an equipment passage to equip/unequip/switch weapons, armor, and accessories too. I’m still a beginner at this stuff, but I am learning, albeit relatively slow, still learning in any case.

also thanks for all your help: HiEv, Greyelf, Dan Cox, and anyone else who answered my questions before. your all a real help to the twine community. :smiley:

My advice would be the following two questions “Which options are the most important?”, and, from that, “Is there a better way to organize the data?”

Which options are the most important?

Do you really need seven sword options when three options might work better? Do you need Copper and Amethyst rings, or could you use only one of them? Which weapons and combinations are the most important?

Can you reduce the total combinations somehow?

Is there a better way to organize the data?

One of the common ways I have explained inventory systems through either implicit or explicit arrangement. That is, you can “add to” an inventory, or you can use Boolean flags to “toggle” if an item is in an inventory or not.