Hiding in a container - or in other ways?

Hi folks,
I’m a bit of a novice coder but am trying to help some students at my Text Adventures club create their games. I was asked on Friday if Inform could do HIDING so that the prisoner could escape from the guards. So I said “Of course!”, not really thinking through how tricky this might be for me to code. Anyway, having magpied some code from one of Ryan Veeder’s games, I’ve been working on it most of the day and think that I’ve found something that seems to work. Does it actually work?

I scaled back my ambitions a bit to concentrate on hiding in just containers. I wasn’t sure how to replace the automatic descriptions for ‘On the desk’ etc for supporters. I also wasn’t sure how I’d implement ‘HIDE behind’…

Anyway, I’d be really grateful if anyone could look over / debug my existing code with whatever duct tape it needs. If there is a more elegant solution anyone knows of, happy to be pointed in the right direction.

PS I found the get in / get out of verbs a bit cranky in the Inform rulebooks so created a new one - am I missing something here?
PPS I enjoyed wrestling with this and think Inform is amazing for a non-programmer to use!

Chapter 0 - Scene setting 

A scene can be stealthy. 

Guard-attack is a stealthy scene. Guard-attack begins when the player is in the Corridor for the first time. Guard-attack ends when the guards are in the Cells for the first time.

When Guard-attack begins: 
	play Guard-chat;
	Guard-coming plays in two turns from now;
	Guard-corridor1 plays in three turns from now;
	Guard-corridor2 plays in four turns from now;	
	Guard-depart plays in five turns from now.	

To play Guard-chat:
	say "You hear a loud shout of 'Secure all the prisoners!' to the north."

At the time when Guard-coming plays:
	say "You can hear the sound of footsteps running towards you from the north."

At the time when Guard-corridor1 plays:
	now the guards are in the Corridor;