Hi im new here. I need some help with hats.

Hi I’m a student in a game design course in tafe and i really need help with my hat issue. I have tried to add hats into my game but every time i test it i can stick a hat on top of another hat with a hat all ready on my head. I really do not want this.

Example of code:
Instead of taking suspicious hat:
Say “You fling it on your head”;
Now the player is wearing suspicious hat.

How I tried to fix the hat problem:
Instead of wearing a hat when the player is wearing a hat:
Say “you have to take off the other hat first.”

I really don’t know how to fix it but i have tried. Can anyone help?

What’s going wrong is that the first rule fires when the action is taking the suspicious hat, while the second rule fires when the action is wearing the suspicious hat. (Note that the phrase “now the player is wearing the suspicious hat” does not start the wearing action: it just makes it so that it is the case that the player wears the hat.)

What you want is this:

• Taking the suspicious hat leads to wearing it.
  • Wearing a hat is only possible when the player is not wearing another hat.

So we write:

Instead of taking suspicious hat:
try wearing suspicious hat.

Instead of wearing a hat when the player is wearing a hat:
say “you have to take off the other hat first.”.

(Untested, but I think it should work.)

I was hoping that you needed millinery sartorial advice, which as an owner of a great many hats I am well able to offer.

This is dangerous code because the wearing action includes an implicit take so you end up in an infinite loop.

I wouldn’t suggest converting taking a hat to wearing a hat because there is already an action for wearing, which responds to the command “wear hat”. However, you may want to hint that you can wear a hat when just taking it. Try this.

[code]“Test”

Report taking a hat:
say “You take [the noun]. You can also ‘wear [the noun]’ as well.”;
rule succeeds.