Help with the impression of speed

I am new to programming with Inform. For my first project, I have decide to port a game I created for Ludum Dare that I think would work better as IF. See game here: lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewto … 11&t=11583

In the game, you switch between a cat, a raccoon, and a shark. The problem was that most people didn’t clue in that the cat moved faster than the raccoon who moved faster than the shark.

The layout of the lab is that there are four pods connected by hallways. I was thinking that I could vary the number of steps in the hallway depending on what animal you were.

Cat:
Pod -> Hallway -> Pod

Raccoon:
Pod -> Hallway -> Hallway -> Hallway -> Pod

Shark (out of water):
Pod -> Hallway -> Hallway -> Hallway -> Hallway -> Hallway -> Hallway -> Hallway -> Pod

Do you think this will work? What would be the best way to code it? One room with a variable that counts how far you’ve gotten? 7 rooms with short cuts for the faster animals? Different version of the whole lab for different animals? (That last one would be cool because then you could modify the descriptions based on the animal.)

Any insights would be helpful.

Susan

I rather like the last one, too. It’s not a huge area to model, so modeling it three times would probably be a nice bit of fun, really :slight_smile: And it could really highlight the advantages (not just speed, but perspective) of the different forms, by recasting the entire world model in their perspective, not just the associated strings/descriptions. Just remember to track the states of objects and such (if one animal breaks a beaker in his world, that same beaker should be broken in the others, too, etc).

Note: you can modify the descriptions based on the animal without doing the different models. It’s actually pretty easy to swap the text around.

Yeah, if the entire world is just those few rooms, I’d go for the last option. It will be the simplest to code.