Help with creating an IF

Hello I have 17 days to create an IF for a school final, and i have never used Inform 7 before. The requirements are

10 “rooms” minimum

• 5 inventory objects
  • 2 multi-step procedural puzzles. Meaning a puzzle that requires several steps or objects in order to solve. E.g. Find key, clean rust off key, use key to open door.

I have the idea for a murder investigation, and i have started, however when i try to add something or change the text inform 7 seems to not allow it, and I have looked at tutorials online, looked on inform 7’s website and read the guides, but none of it helps.

The issues I’m having are with doors
items being removed from rooms after they are taken
items being removed after being dropped
using items with other items
changing actions
making invisible items

In general, you need to remember that even though I7 looks like English, it’s not; it’s code, and it needs to be used with the correct phrasing. A lot of sentences that are synonymous in English will not work as synonyms in I7.

If you post the relevant parts of your code and the errors it throws up, and describe what you’re trying to do, then we’ll be able to help.

My personal opinion: Your teacher is being very, very unrealistic. Unless, of course, you’ve been studying Inform 7 all year in the class. If your teacher expects you to start from nothing and do something sensible with I7 in less than three weeks, I would say that qualifies as sadism. Unless your class is a college-level upper-division programming class, and maybe even then.

I have two suggestions.

(1) Download my Handbook (from www.musicwords.net/if/i7hb.htm). It’s certainly not perfect, but a number of people have suggested that they found it easier to follow than the built-in Documentation.

(2) Don’t try to do anything fancy. You’ve mentioned invisible items. That’s too fancy. Do something straightforward.