Help With Conditionals?

Hey guys, I’m fairly new to IF and new to inform (and am generally all around awful with computers). Mostly, I’m a writer who thought it would be fun to translate a story line into IF format. I’ve got the basics, but one thing is still tripping me up; conditionals.

I understand the whole “instead” conditional. I’ve got that. But what I don’t understand is how to make one action depend on another. For instance, I have the character “Mom” who I have defined as being “a woman in the Kitchen”. For the purposes of this game. I want the player to have to talk to “Mom” before leaving through the door. Unfortunately, I can’t figure out how to code this properly. If I say “instead of opening the door, say” whatever, then the door will never open. I don’t know how to make the opening of the door dependent on whether or not the character has talked to “Mom”.

Also I find a similar issue with a vehicle. I want the character NOT to be able to enter or re-enter any other rooms (except a few designated areas, like streets and driveways) once inside the car. But I don’t know how to prevent her from entering somewhere based on the fact that she is in the car.

I’ve combed through the documentation and even an extra manual I found online, and while the extra manual mentions similar issues (such as a guard dog not letting you enter until you complete a certain task; namely, distracting it) they don’t actually blatantly tell you how to do it yourself.

Any help would be appreciated! Also any other tips would be warmly welcomed!

I’m not sure if this is the most elegant way to accomplish this since I’m just a newbie myself, but you could use “Check”.

[code]Talking is an action applying to one visible thing. Understand “talk to [someone]” as talking

Instead of talking:
if the noun is mom:
say “‘Hi mom!’ you say.”;
now mom is talked-to

Check opening the door:
if mom is not-talked-to:
say “You should really talk to mom first.” instead.[/code]