Help with a Variable

Hi, I am having some trouble finding information on how to set something up.

Basically in my game the player character has a vivarium containing a snake which they can open at the start of the game. I would like for the snake to pop up somewhere later in the story if the character leaves the vivarium open without closing it at the start of the game. I imagine I am overlooking somthing quite simple on how to do this but it is quite specific so I am hoping someone here can help?

Thanks for any help in advance. I am very new to this software and have never really done coding before so I may just be asking a dumb question but I hope someone can help.

Hello! You won’t actually need to set up a separate variable for this; you can test whether or not something is open with code like this:

if vivarium is open:
		say "Oops, you left that vivarium open!";

That might be all you’re looking for, but if it doesn’t answer your question let me know and I can include a little more detail on how this code might be used.

There are various ways to do this, one might be with Scenes (see chapter 10 in the docs):

The Living Room is a room.

The vivarium is a transparent closed openable container in the Living Room.

The snake is an animal in the vivarium.

Snake-Escape is a scene.
Snake-Escape begins when the vivarium is open for the sixth turn.

When Snake-Escape begins:
	now the snake is in the Living Room;
	say "You get a nagging feeling that you should check on your vivarium.".

Thank you, I have done this in other places but this one I wanted to be somthing for the player to be able to forget to do which can lead to hijinks.

Also thanks StJohnLimbo that seems perfect Thanks for pointing out where it is in the documentation as well. The documentation is nice and useful but it helps when you know which section to look in.