Help creating a virtual patient

Hi all:

I’m an eye doc trying to use Inform 7 to create scenarios for docs in training.
The plan is to create a bunch of patients with acute eye problems.
I have a bit of programming experience but I’m new to interactive fiction (except as a player of Infocom games).

I’d like some advice about how to proceed with a number of things.
I don’t generally have a problem with messing around until I find something that works but I’d like to do things the “Inform way” if I can. I really have looked over the documentation.

More details about the concept.
This will probably be a one room story.
The setting is an exam room in an emergency dept.
There’s a patient there.
She’s come in because she’s lost vision in one of her eyes.
I’d like the player to be able

• to ask her questions
  • then proceed to examine her
  • then proceed to order appropriate tests
  • then to prescribe treatment

I’ve got a few things working.
I need help with some others.

Starting with the history, I want the player to be able to ask the patient questions about a number of things.
I understand that I can simply have a bunch of

Instead of asking Mable Barnett about "weight loss": say "Actually my clothes have been a little looser lately."
kinds of statements.
I could also create a table of topics and replies.

topic reply points "headache" "'Well, now that you mention it. I have had a headache over the last few weeks." 1 "weight loss" "'Actually my clothes have been a little looser lately." 1 "her foot" "I can't see from my right eye. Why in the world are you asking me about my feet?" 0
That will also give me the ability to give the player points when they ask relevant questions.
When they accumulate enough points I’ll let them go on to the exam.

What’s the best way to deal with all of the sensible synonyms?
Ask Mable about weight loss? weight? her weight?
Ask Mable about her feet? feet? foot? her right foot?