Guarding A Door Or Thing

I’d like to generalize guarding something. Here is what I have:

protection relates one person (called the protector) to one thing.
The verb to guard (he guards, they guard, he guarded, it is guarded, he is guarding) implies the protection relation.

Instead of touching something that is guarded by [b]someone (called the guardian) in the presence of the guardian:[/b]
	say "That's not a good idea."

This does not compile.

I get this message:

Though – this will work if I take away the generalization and tie this to a proper person.

Hi Wayne,

I’m a super newbie (first game last month!) but I wonder if this would work:

Instead of touching something that is guarded by [b]someone (called the guardian) when the player can see the guardian:[/b] say "That's not a good idea."

I may well be wrong but I told myself I’d try to be helpful once I learned a bit, as others here have been so helpful to me. :slight_smile:

Or maybe the problem is with the “is guarded by”?

What about

Instead of touching something (called the guardedthing) when someone is guarding the guardedthing...

I think what is happening is that Inform is reading someone in the presence of the guardian as a person who is inside something called ‘the presence of the guardian’, and getting confused. You can get around this by breaking off the “in the presence” clause and making it part of the body of the rule.

Before touching something that is guarded by someone: if the protector of the noun can see the player, say "That would not be a good idea." instead.

“Can see the player” is essentially the same condition as “in the presence of” – it’s a bit more flexible than simply checking if the protector is in the location, because now you can have an invisible docent, or a docent who is watching from another room.