Graphical Interactive Fiction

Hi Guys,

I am a hobbiest game developer and for my current project I thought I would go back to basics and make a super-retro game. I like the idea of interactive fiction but I can’t really get into it that much because the lack of visual location cues makes me feel lost easily after which I tend to loose interest.

I was wondering if IF purists would consider graphics to be a hindrance to the writing or can they help those of us who have a more visually inspired imagination enjoy the genre . The game I am working on has very deliberately bad graphics, similar to those in Mystery House and alot of the puzzles are depicted visually.

Do IF fans consider Mystery House IF or is it an adventure game?

Edit:
Also given I am writing my own IF engine from scratch, are there any helpful documents with lists of IF conventions so I don’t frustrate IF fans if my engine doesn’t work the way you would expect?
Are there any features that current IF engines lack?

Hi!

I guess it pretty much depends on what you think of. When I think of interactive fiction, I think of text adventures. So by that definition, the old Sierra Adventures would be adventure games, but not IF. There are of course text adventures with graphics like the Legend games, later Infocom games (Arthur, Shogun) or the Scott Adams games I played (The Incredible Hulk). Nowadays, many games that are developed with Hugo are using graphics (Necrotic Drift, Future Boy). But mostly, the accompaning graphics are of purely illustrational use, they could be shut off without making the game unplayable (I think Zork Zero was an exception).

I think, you should ask your question on the newsgroup rec.arts.int-fiction. The people over there are really helpful (although such a question could also trigger a flamewar - you never know…)

Bob

I think you’ll be surprised how little people are bothered about it.