Go North vs Go Through Door

Hello. I’m fairly new to Inform 7, and still coming to grips with it.

Can anyone tell me why this Report rule doesn’t fire when the player types “go through the mysterious door”?

The Silent Dungeon is a room.
Description is "You are in the Silent Dungeon. How will you ever escape?"

The player is in the Silent Dungeon.

The Sunny Field is a room.
Description is "You are in a Sunny Field. That was easier than I thought."

The Mysterious Door is a Door.
The Mysterious Door is north of the Silent Dungeon and south of the Sunny Field. It is open.

Report going north from the Silent Dungeon:
	say "Executing the 'Report going north from the Silent Dungeon' rule.";
	make no decision.

Since the player has to go north when they go through the door, I thought it would fire. It does fire when the player types “go north”.

However, if I define the rule like this:

Report going through the Mysterious Door from The Silent Dungeon:
	say "Executing the 'Report going through the Mysterious Door from The Silent Dungeon' rule.";
	make no decision.

it fires whether the player types “go north” or “go through the mysterious door”. Which makes sense to me. If you are going north you have to go through the Mysterious Door, so the rule fires. But why doesn’t the first example work the same way? If you go through the Mysterious Door you are going north.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,
Davf

If you type ‘actions’ while testing your scenario, it will afterwards help you by showing which actions Inform is generating in response to your typed commands.

In this instance:

Silent Dungeon
You are in the Silent Dungeon. How will you ever escape?

You can see a Mysterious Door here.

>actions
Actions listing on.

>n
[going north]
Executing the "Report going north from the Silent Dungeon" rule.

Sunny Field
You are in a Sunny Field. That was easier than I thought.

[going north - succeeded]

>s
[going south]

Silent Dungeon

[going south - succeeded]

>go door