Ghostfinder: Postmortem

The Ghostfinder Postmortem

Before we get started, I can’t promise that “Ghostfinder: Postmortem” won’t be an episode title in the future.

Ghostfinder, the series, is my first ever attempt at creating a work of IF. It may very well be my last - right now, the rough outline I have in my head for the series runs a good 6 to 7 series of 5 to 6 episodes each, for anywhere from 30 to 42 episodes in total. Suffice to say, this will be a Herculean undertaking, and we’ll see if I have it in me to make any more IF after this is done.

I only really entered IFComp for one reason: Get as many experienced eyeballs on “Shift” for some honest feedback, good or bad. It’s tough not to overstate just how little I knew about not only IF, but game design or coding in general when I got started. My background is in scriptwriting - screenplays and stage plays - so even writing in prose was a slightly new territory for me. Ghostfinder was very much a “fly by the seat of your pants and pray for the best” affair, and I felt that it would be important to see what actually qualified IF people made of it before I made any more of these. And if a few of them even liked it, well, that was a plus.

My biggest fear was that I was retreading old territory. In my head, I knew that the direction I wanted to push the series in was relatively fresh and non-derivative, but would any of that come through in the span of a single episode? More importantly, would the actual gameplay satisfy anyone? Having played all of perhaps 5 different works of IF to completion in my life up to this point, it occurred to me that the central gameplay “mechanic” of Ghostfinder might be the sort of thing the IFComp judges see year in and year out: Trite and groan-worthy. I was going in blind, and even the decision to create Ghostfinder at all, much less enter it into a major competition for assessment, was very much a leap of faith.