Getting Started

Hi. I’m brand new to trying to develop IF. I am taking a stab at using Inform 7. I learn best by example and doing, so the documentation I have read so far isn’t “clicking” yet. I am trying to work through some self-directed examples with the supplied documentation, and even very simple things don’t seem to be working. I’ve only been doing this for less than an hour, but I really don’t want to beat my head into a brick wall or give up… but I am just staring blankly at this documentation at this point. I thought I would give Inform a try because it was intuitive to writing in English, but some very basic associations don’t seem to be as intuitive as I hoped (not putting down the system, I’m aware I’m the one that is deficient rather than the other way around, just to be clear :slight_smile:).

The below does not work, for example, and I don’t know why.

“Why” by Me

The plain room is a room.
You are in the plain room.
Blorg is a kind of value. Blorgs are sigh and darn. You have a Blorg.
Your Blorg is darn.

I also wonder if there is a way to redefine global variables and declarations. I don’t think I’d actually use these, but for sake of example, can I redefine “look” to be “smell”, or “male” to be “female” (and vice versa)? Obviously these modifications would be useless and confusing to a player, but can it be done?

Answering these questions would just be “giving me a fish” though, so if anyone has a suggestion of a better tutorial than just reading the supplied documentation, one that walks through the creation of a simple game, that would be great. Specifically, I am interested in how to modify the characters in the game, including the player character, by giving them objects, qualities, etc.

As you’ve noticed, Inform 7 code is not really English, it just looks like it.