Get the thing another thing is part of

I’m new to inform and this problem is driving me nuts.

I have something (let’s say a drawer) that is part of something else (let’s say a desk). What I want to be able to do in a function is for a given drawer, get the desk (a kind) it is part of. This seems like it should be trivial, but maybe there’s some subtlety to the incorporation relationship that I don’t get. For example:

if the drawer is part of a desk

This works (where “the drawer” is a value and “a desk” is a kind).

However, Inform chokes on:

Let p be the desk that incorporates the drawer
Let p be the desk that the drawer is part of
Let p be the desk to which the drawer relates to by incorporation

And any number of other combinations I’ve tried. Inform complains that “I was expecting to read a value”, but this seems to be the syntax suggested in section 13.13. of the manual. Any ideas? What am I missing here?

Not sure whether this will work, but have you tried “a random thing which incorporates the drawer”? If the only thing that the drawer is part of is the desk, then this might do it, since it will (I think) start by essentially generating the list of things that incorporate the drawer, and then choosing something from that list at random; since there is only one such thing, it automatically gets picked.

Robert Rothman

Thanks Robert. That does seem to work. Although I’m still at a loss as to why the other things I tried didn’t work.

There are a couple of ways to approach this. Robert’s suggestion is one.

Another way: when you specify an object via an “if” statement, you can always name it. So this works:

if the noun is part of a desk (called D):
		say "[The noun] is part of [a D].";