gamebook.js - an IF-style gamebook engine

Hi all,

I’m new to both this forum and IF, and I already posted a similar message to the Project Aon and Demian Katz’ mailing lists, so sorry for any redundancy.

I have created “gamebook.js”, which is an experimental crossbreed between IF and gamebooks: instead of navigating an explicit set of choices, you are free to type any command after each section. The engine then tries to match what you typed with the best available choice, using a parser. The parser is quite simple (as it wouldn’t really make sense for it to be otherwise) but nevertheless using some techniques like stemming and synonym matching, to improve flexibility (and fun!) a bit.

It currently implements the full version of Fire on the Water, the second book in the LW series, whose content is freely available (for doing such mashups) through Project Aon.

If you’d like to try it:

projectaon.org/staff/christian/gamebook.js

or read more about the idea, or some technical details (on my blog):

cjauvin.blogspot.ca/2013/03/susp … elief.html

I’m quite aware that this idea is far from perfect, and that it has some obvious flaws. But it was a fun project to do (with some interesting web programming challenges) and I’d like to know what some people might think of it, before moving on to something else.

Christian

Hi Christian! A couple of bug reports:

[spoiler]On p. 278 I rolled a 1 and got a TypeFault exception. I thought I’d copied the text for you but it seems I haven’t! Sorry.

On p. 78 I did not actually lose the chainmail waistcoat from my inventory.[/spoiler]

I’m a bit conflicted about this – I like the book, but it really does feel very guess-the-verby. This may be inescapable given the nature of the project.

Hi Matt,