Game Clock as Generalized Time Periods (new I7 coder)

After much internet browsing and searching, I haven’t found an example which is close to what I’m attempting. I’m not really much of one for forum boards, but I’m getting desperate. I’m very new to I7 and want to learn. So here goes…

I am attempting to write a section in my game which tracks the “time of day” as a general time period, based on the game clock’s current time of day. The best way I could think of to do this, was to make a table. Unfortunately, no matter which way I write my code, it gives me an error, basically telling me, I’m an idiot for even trying. :confused:

What am I doing wrong? :open_mouth:
Here’s what I have so far (You can cut and paste into I7 and you’ll see my most frequent error:

“Time Project”

The Test Module is a room.

A time period is a kind of value. The time periods are defined by the Table of Apparent Time. The current time period is a time period that varies. The current time period is early morning.

Table of Apparent Time
time period start time
early morning 4:00 AM
dawn 6:00 AM
morning 7:00 AM
mid-morning 9:00 AM
mid-day 11:00 AM
afternoon 1:00 PM
mid-afternoon 3:00 PM
early evening 5:00 PM
dusk 7:00 PM
evening 9:00 PM
night 11:00 PM
late night 2:00 AM

Time-checking is an action applying to nothing.

Understand “check time” and “time” as time-checking.

To say apparent time:
if there is a start time of time of day in the Table of Apparent Time,
choose a row with a start time of time of day in the Table of Apparent Time;
now the current time period is the time period entry;
say “It feels around [current time period].”

Report time-checking:
say “[apparent time]”

test with “check time”.

The recipe book has a chapter on time. There is an example of using named time periods, The Hang of Thursdays.

What error are you getting? If you copy the error that the above code is giving you then that would make it easier to figure out.