Feedback on IF exercise

Hi all,

I’m new at Inform, and was trying a simple exercise to get the hang of things. I wrote a story where the object is simply to make yourself a pb&j sandwich and eat it. I was wondering if anyone would mind giving me some feedback on the code. Inform 7 is very different from what I’m use to as far as programming languages go, and I just want to make sure I’m not doing anything silly or missing anything obvious. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Source can be found at http://playfic.com/games/cadr/pbandj

Thanks!

Hey, nice coding! Just a quick response while I’m having breakfast…

The only thing I get an itch to change is how you handle the spreading. Inform 7 will happily handle a lot of the matching for you, so rather than having one big “check spreading” rule, you can have several rules with additional “when…” qualifiers, like

check spreading when the player does not have a knife:

Also, I think the general idea is not to actually do everything in the “check” rule, but handle that in the later stages - the “carry out” and “report” stages. So the “now the bread is off-stage” etc shouldn’t go inside a check rule.

• Peter

Thanks - just the kind of stuff I was looking for!

I’ll read more about the carry out/report stages.

Started breaking the large check into smaller parts. I’m having trouble breaking this first "if’ condition out of the following (that checks that you have the bread on the plate and the plate on the counter):

Check spreading when the noun is jelly and the second noun is bread:
	if the plate is not on the counter or the bread is not on the plate:
		say "Like, in mid air?"; 
		stop the action;
	say "Jelly looks great on bread!";
	now the bread is jellied;
	if the bread is buttered:
		say "You now have a pb&j!  Hooray!";
		now the bread is off-stage;
		move sandwich to player;
	stop the action;