Easiest platform for a beginner

I’m wondering what would be the easiest platform to make a simple IF game for an absolute beginner?
Specifically, it must be easy to grasp and less typing equals better.

It depends what you want to do. Inform 7 is popular for making parser-based games because the code readable English, and so there’s not so steep a learning curve. A simple hyperlink choose-your-own-adventure without state tracking can be made using html with no difficulty whatsoever.

If you specifically want to avoid typing, try Adrift or Quest. (Though you’ll inevitably have to type a lot, if you’re writing a text-based game.)

I have experience of both ADRIFT and Inform7 (I7). I can say that for an absolute beginner who wants to create something quickly then nothing will beat ADRIFT. I’ve about broken I7 to my will but it does take much longer to master. I had a workable game up and running in ADRIFT in around 2-3 months when I first started. My conversation from ADRIFT to I7 of Pathway to Destruction took a lot lot longer than that. But, much as I love ADRIFT I think that I7 creates a more solid game.

This.

I only have experience with I7, myself, but I can vouch for it as being very beginner-friendly. With zero programming experience, I had a small, complete and reasonably-polished game finished within 4 hours of cracking it open for the very first time.

There was, however, plenty of typing … because without typing, the player would have nothing to read.

Thanks for the ideas.