Duplicating objects for a Resource Management Game

so I’m fairly new to inform and I’m working on a prototype for a management game. I want to have a system where, say, you have a tomato plant in your garden, and every so often a tomato grows that you can harvest. (this would extend to other things, such as trees dropping branches that you could gather, etc)

• how would I make the tomato plant grow tomatoes?

• how would I stack multiple of the same items? (I’m new to this and inform may handle this automatically)

• is there a way to have, for example, a house inventory that stores all the resources gathered (wood, tomatoes, etc) that the player could access instead of carrying it all in their inventory?

• are there any tips for making resource management systems that aren’t listed here?

Congrats on getting into Inform! This is all fairly simple to do out of the box:

• You can make a tomato plant grow tomatoes by setting a quality on the plant that determines whether or not it’s got a tomato, and then using an “Every Turn” rule to make a tomato-less plant tomato-full (an Every Turn rule is a rule that, unsurprisingly, runs every turn, and one of the things it’s good for is incrementing a counter or timer, which sounds like exactly what you’re looking for!) See below for a specific example of how this would work.

• Inform does indeed handle this automatically – all you need to do is tell it that “tomato” is a kind of thing, and then any tomato the player picks up will stack exactly the way you think it should.

• This is also easy – you can just create a room called the house that the player can go into and drop stuff off in willy-nilly. Or you could create a container that they could similarly insert stuff into and take stuff out of. You can get fancy and add size or carrying limits to containers (or rooms for that matter), too.