Discussion on Latest news on the next I7 update

I have no knowledge of the development schedule, but I would say “not soon”, based on a quick review of the number of outstanding bug reports on Mantis. (Every previous release has always closed all previous known bugs, and it’s not likely that this release will be any different.)

Thanks for the observation/guess, Erik. I’m not going to worry about it, then. If and when there’s a new version, I’ll roll up my sleeves and dig into it. Maybe, probably. Heck, at that point I might get inspired to make a printed version available on Lulu.

Regardless of whether the Inform Handbook is 100% current, it has helped me a lot, especially with understanding tables. So thanks for taking the time to write it, Jim, and I look forward to taking a look at the next edition, whenever that comes out!

For the record, I’ve been wondering about this, too, but just assumed there was so much to do, with both patching up bugs and technical developments that are either progressing or are in the works (like Quixe, Parchment, Vorple, Threaded Conversations, etc.) that it become a little overwhelming to the Inform 7 authors, who I assume have lives. Still, it would be nice to get a small official heads-up on where the next release is at, even if things haven’t quite reached fruition.

I think the Inform team may not like to give tentative dates for upcoming updates from far out, because people don’t treat them as tentative – it was IIRC a couple updates ago that they said that they’d have an update by date X, and when it rolled out a week late or so someone was very upset on rec.arts.int-fiction. So, better to give no estimate than one with big error bars.

(I’ve also noticed that when Graham resolves bugs he resolves a huge number of them at once, FWIW.)