Disable actions when in battle

Good day,

I am new to Inform 7, however I have been able to play around and write a small IF adventure basically testing some of the options and instructions.

I have implemented a very basic fighting script, based on an example from the Inform website.

What I am trying to do now, is to create a “battle state”.

Basically, if you attack an enemy, you engage in battle (thus changing you into a battle state).

While in battle state, I want to be able to give the player just the following verbs:

Attack (physical)
Cast Spell
Dodge
Run

All other verbs should be disabled until one of this things happens:

1. You kill the enemy
  2. You are killed
  3. You escape successfully.

Also, I am changing the prompt from “>” to “(In Battle Mode) >” while in this state. (with the “Now change command prompt”).

Any idea would be appreciated.

Thanks
Max

You probably want to do this with scenes and kinds of action. See Ex 160: Bowler Hats and Baby Geese and 7.15: Kinds of action.

A scene can be violent or peaceful.

Millicent Battles The Giant Swamp Possum is a violent scene.

Attacking something is tactical behaviour. Dodging is tactical behaviour. [etc]

Instead of doing something that is not tactical behaviour during a violent scene: say "That can wait until after the fight."

(You might also want to use an extension like Variable Time Control to prevent the player from getting attacked after this.)

Excellent. That is exactly what I was looking for.

My guess would be also that I would need to define Casting magic and Escaping as a tactical behavior.

Also for the message saying that it cannot do that action while in battle I can use the [no-time] as indicated by the variable time control (and as you pointed out).

Again, thanks for your help
Max

Now I’ve got “Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots” by The Flaming Lips stuck in my head…

1 Like