Defining Actions / Preventing the player from doing an action unless a requirement is met

Hello all!

I’m a complete beginner to Inform 7, and I thought I could use a variable for this, but that didn’t work.

I tried to have the player only being able to get up if they were on a supporter. Initially I tried to let the system check if the player was on a supporter. When that didn’t work, I tried a number of different ways. Nothing seemed to work.

The only demonstrations of requirements for actions seemed to involve the player having something in their inventory. But how do you make requirements that involve things like numbers, time etc.?

1 Like

The command >GET UP already maps to the exiting action per the Standard Rules. And, in fact, there’s already a rule called the can't exit when not inside anything rule (also provided by the Standard Rules) to do what you’re asking. This produces output like:

>GET UP
But you aren't in anything at the moment.

You’ll probably get better advice if you include the actual code that you’re having trouble with in your post. You can use the editing controls to mark it as code, which is helpful for those trying to assist.

1 Like

Hi Philip, can you provide an example of some code you tried that didn’t work? You can put code between sets of three back ticks (‘’’) on a line by themselves to get nice formatting.

The thing I attempted to do, I have partially succeeded in doing by installing the extension Postures, by Emily Short. But the thing that still eludes me is how you put requirements on actions, and why some of the code works in certain cases.

Example:

Instead of getting up,
say “You bump your head on the ceiling as you rise.”

(also tried “standing”)

Doesn’t work.

Instead of looking,
say “You bump your head on the ceiling as you rise.”

Works.

The thing which is most vital to getting started, I think, is knowing how to put requirements on actions. One example would be having to have a key to open a door etc.