custom message IDs, adv3Lite

One of several reasons I was drawn to adv3lite as opposed to adv3 so early in my TADS3 exposure was the promise of easily customizable system text via the overriding of messages in a CustomMessage object, as opposed to what I perceived to be a relatively steep learning curve for mastery of the adv3 transcript.

No offense to the developers of the authoring system :slight_smile: but as a writer, I want to be the one who decides what words do or don’t show up in the presentation of the material.

In Lite, it’s as simple as…

[code]CustomMessages

messages = 
[
    Msg(currently no hints, 'What? Already?  No way. Try some stuff first,
        then ask for help. '),
]

;
[/code]

To do so, however, requires that you know the key, or ID, that uniquely identifies the message you want to override—the currently no hints part of the Msg redefinition quoted above.

Where to get those keys? And how to know exactly, in advance, what system text may be a candidate for an override?

The Messages chapter of Part IV: Actions of the adv3Lite Library Manual says the system defines messages as either of two types: BMsg or DMsg.

The currently no hints message is defined in hintsys.t as…

/* if there are no hints available, say so and give up */
        if (topHintMenuObj.contents.length() == 0)
        {
            DMsg(currently no hints, '<.parser>Sorry, no hints are currently
                available. Please check back later.<./parser> ');
            return;
        }

How would I have known that if someone hadn’t already told me to use the currently no hints ID?

That was the question I set out to answer.