Creation edit box link Harlowe

Hello, I am a newcomer and I create games for the blind in the Czech Republic.
I am facing this problem.
I want to create an edit box where the player would write the answer to the question.
If he answers correctly, he moves to the next room.
If he answers wrong, he stays where he is now.
Thanks for your answer
Jiří Škrába

1 Like

Which Twine version and story format are you using? (Harlowe, Sugarcube, Chapbook?)

The code format is different depending on that.

Hello,

sorry I did not specify the version and format of the story.

So far, I’m not very good at the site.

Version Twine 2.3.14

Harlow format.

Am I blind and my screen reader can’t see everything and Google Translate?

Thank you and have a nice day

Jiří Škrába

image001.jpg

1 Like

Allowing the player to enter a value is easy, checking if the player entered the correct value is a little more complex than you may expect.

You can use the (input-box:) macro to allow the player to enter a value…

What is the capital city of the Czech Republic?
(input-box: bind _answer, "X", 1)

Checking if they entered the correct value of Prague requires a little work because the player may choose to enter:

1. no value.
  2. a value of a different data-type than you’re expecting. eg. 12345
  3. a value with a different letter casing than you’re expecting. eg. “pRAguE”
  4. a value that has leading and/or trailing white-space characters. eg. " Prague "

In this specific use-case you can use the (trimmed:) macro to overcome the 4th issue, and the (lowercase:) macro to overcome the 3rd issue. For the 1st and 2nd issues we will just structure the checking code in a way that ignores them.

(link-repeat: "Check Answer")[{
	(set: _answer to (trimmed: (lowercase: _answer)))
	(if: _answer is "prague")[
		(goto: "Welcome to Prague")
	]
}]