Creating new action/ unlocking issue

I am extremely new to the IF world but I am using Inform 7 for one of my classes this semester. What I want to do is point a wand at a door in order to unlock it. I’ve tried several different ways and Inform 7 does generate it each time without any errors…

Pointing is an action applying to one carried thing and one visible thing.

Understand “point [carried thing] at [something]” as pointing.

pointing wand at embroidered door unlocks embroidered door.

instead of pointing wand at embroidered door: now the embroidered door is unlocked; say “The lock clicks.”

…but when I try “point wand at embroidered door” in the game nothing happens at all. Does anyone know what I am missing?

One handy tool–run your game in the IDE and then type ACTIONS. As you continue to play, the game will list what code-level actions it’s trying and what is preventing them from succeeding.

That’s the syntax for defining a key that unlocks a door, not an action.
You need to define rules to carry out actions.

Test room is a room.

an Embroidered door is a locked door. It is north of test room and south of victory room.
The player carries a wand.
pointing it at is an action applying to two things.

Understand "point [something preferably held] at [something]" as pointing it at.

Check pointing the wand at something (this is the wand doesn't unlock everything rule):
	if the second noun is not the embroidered door:
		say "Nothing seems to happen." instead.

After pointing the wand at the embroidered door:
	if the embroidered door is locked:
		now the embroidered door is unlocked;
		say "There is a puff of smoke, and you hear a click from the embroidered door.";
	otherwise:
		say "There is a puff of smoke, but the door seems to be unlocked already."

Test room
You can see an Embroidered door here.

actions
Actions listing on.

open door
[opening the Embroidered door]
It seems to be locked.