creating first game going to need some help.

Hi, I am very new to IF and IF programming. And by very new I mean I played my first IF game last week which was ZORK and that was only because it is playable in the new Call of Duty video game. Well I became very interested and have played some simple games and now have decided that I want to start writing IF. I have decided to write a small game to get my self acclimated with the Inform programming language.

My game is based around my house and the player has to escape the house. I figured this was an easy way to help me create rooms and things that are in those rooms because I could base it all off of my house. Well there are obviously some things that I have made different but that’s not really why I am here.

I am going to put my questions here and maybe this will help me learn a lot about inform 7.

The first part is copied from a thread i put in the wrong section before but it really longs here.

Here i am trying to make a code unlock a door. I have a keypad next to the door and i would like the player to type enter code. then i would like for them to right in the code on the next line. But i am stuck here and dont know what to do.

entering code is an action applying to one visible thing.

understand "enter code" as entering code.

check entering code:
	if in the laundry room:
		say " you walk up to the keypad and start to enter the code.";
	otherwise:
		say "There is nothing here to enter a code on."

the key pad is a thing in the laundry room. it is fixed in place. key pad has a number called keycode. the keycode of the key pad is 1234.

understand "keypad" as key pad.

another question I have involves breaking a bench with a hammer. this is what I have so far.