Creating an "instanced" map with TADS 3

Hi,

I want to create a very simple game in which the map consists of several instances. That is, starting from a specific Room such as ‘Outside of your House’, I want that instead of typing n,n,s,e,e,e or whatever to go from one destination to another, the player is presented with multiple choices of the places he might go at that particular moment. He or she could pick one of these choices by pressing a key and be teleported to that location.

I’m a total newbie to TADS3, anyhow I’ve been reading the whole day without finding a simple solution. Since I’d say that this “instanced” map is not a strange idea I wanted to ask, is there a library element that provides an easy way to implement it?

thanks

Have you tried creating all your rooms without exits, then using moveIntoForTravel to teleport the character when they press the key?

It’s going to require a bit of custom code – the library doesn’t provide this functionality in any direct way. One issue you’ll need to look at is that many of the single-letter key commands (such as ‘g’, ‘z’, ‘s’, ‘n’, and ‘d’, for instance) are already defined.

Here’s a simple implementation that uses two-letter commands (not unlike ‘ne’ for northeast). You should be able to customize this as needed. Note that the commands (lg, mz, and so on) will work anywhere in the game. If you want to restrict the rooms in which they’ll work, you need to refine the execAction blocks.

[code]tower: Room ‘Tower’
"You can go to the lounge (LG), mezzanine (MZ), or scullery (SC). "
;

• me: Actor
    ;

scullery: Room ‘Scullery’
"You can go to the tower (TW), mezzanine (MZ), or lounge (LG). "
;

lounge: Room ‘Lounge’
"You can go to the tower (TW), scullery (SC), or mezzanine (MZ). "
;

mezzanine: Room ‘Mezzanine’
"You can go to the tower (TW), scullery (SC), or lounge (LG). "
;

DefineIAction(toTower)
execAction() {
if (me.isIn(tower))
"But you’re already in the Tower. ";
else {
me.moveIntoForTravel(tower);