Create a new object when action is carried out.

So in my game, I have a mining action, and as a part of the puzzle I want to use a rock obtained from mining the wall.

My problem is that I want mining to be an action that will always mine a rock from the wall. I.e. It creates a new object called rock. I don’t really know how to dynamically create instances of objects.
I’ve had some experience with standard coding languages, and in those you could create a list of objects then append a new object each time it was run, would you do something similar?

Here’s a draft piece of code of what I essentially want, however it obviously doesn’t work.

[code]rock is a kind of thing. the description of rock is “A lumpy rock”.

After examining creator:
a rock is in place;
say “Poof, a rock appeared”.

place is a room.
creator is a thing in place.[/code]

I’m trying to go ahead with the list idea but am failing to implement it. In python it would look something like this:

total_rocks = [] def add_rock: r = rock(location, description etc) total_rocks.append(r)

And this is what I have in Inform;

let total rocks be a list of stones. After examining creator: now r is a stone; r is in location; add r to total rocks; say "Poof, a rock appeared".

if someone is able to point out the differences/similarities of the actual solution I’d love that.

In standard Inform, you can’t create objects during the course of play. If you want to really be able to dynamically create objects, you need to use the extension Dynamic Objects by Jesse McGrew.

However, that’s almost never something you need to do. A better idea is to create a limited store of rocks and move one of them to the room when you need to. (I haven’t tested this code, though.)

[code]rock is a kind of thing. the description of rock is “A lumpy rock”.

place is a room.
creator is a thing in place.

Rock Storage is a room. Ten rocks are in rock storage.

After examining creator:
if a rock (called stone) is in rock storage: