Conversation responses from topic table keep including "there is no reply"

Hi all,

I’m new to interactive fiction and Inform 7. I’m trying to make a little conversation game, where you ask a character about topics listed in a table and you will get a different answer, depending on whether you have already asked them about the topic before.

Where my table is structured Topic, State (true/false depending on whether topic discussed before or not), Response1, Response 2, I have the following clause to decide which response to print:

Carry out asking Fafnir about a topic listed in the Table of Conversation:
** repeat through the Table of Conversation:**
** if the topic understood matches the topic entry and the state entry is false:**
** say “[Response1 entry][line break]”;**
** now state entry is true;**
** rule succeeds;**
** if the topic understood matches the topic entry and the state entry is true:**
** say “[Response2 entry][line break]”.**

It achieves my aim of choosing between Response1 and Response2, but underneath the desired response it then also prints “there is no reply”. For example, when asking about treasure for the first time, the game responds with:

>ask fafnir about treasure
Ah, yes, my pride and joy. It has taken me many of your human lifetimes to amass this hoard, and I shall guard it with my teeth and my claws and my fire.

There is no reply.

>

I am not sure what I have set up wrong in that rule above which makes it print the correct response and then also print a response as though it doesn’t recognise the topic I am asking about.

Can anyone explain it to me? Thank you very much for your help!

You need a “rule succeeds” on both if statements. Without that, the game thinks the carry out rule did not handle the job, so proceeds to the next one.

Hi Andrew,