Conversation Package: Prompts for asking about the unknown

I’m a newbie in Inform7. I’m using the Conversation Package by Eric Eve. I want to have a default prompt (like say “You are not really familiar with [subject] so you don’t know what to ask.”) when the player tries to ask anyone about subjects that are unfamiliar / unknown.

What is the most simple way to do this? I can have a default ask response for a person but that will also be triggered when the player asks some NPC about known stuff that the NPC doesn’t have an answer for so I’d like that to be a different answer.

There’s probably a very easy way to do this but I’m stuck. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

SOLVED, thanks (see last post).

Have you tried something along the lines of “Default ask response for a person when the second noun is an unfamiliar subject: say “You are not really familiar with [second noun], so you don’t know what to ask.””?
(I haven’t checked to see if it works, so it’s just a suggestion.)

I’ve tried something similar (“Default ask response for a person when asked about an unknown subject: say “You are not really familiar with [second noun], so you don’t know what to ask.””), but unfortunately it didn’t work.

So thanks for the suggestion, I’ll try that next.

Nope, did not work. I’ve turned on all the rules and it seems that the rule that is chosen is the (default) block asking rule which says the basic response There is no reply. What baffles me is that Eric Eve’s conversation framework has a separate rule for when someone is asked about something unknown:

Check quizzing someone about something unknown (this is the block asking about something unknown rule): abide by the block asking rule.

This doesn’t seem to get triggered. Any thoughts?