Concealing

I have started not long ago and I am trying to find a way to unconceal an item’s possesions when a player examines it. Or you could tell me a way to show the objects but without printing the things inside them. This is my code so far:

“Short story” by Gameker
A state is a kind of value. The states are on and off.
The TV state is a state that varies.
The TV state is off

The Lounge is a room. “The lounge is very unorganised. I’m not going to list everything in here.”.
The TV is in Lounge.
The sofa is in Lounge.
The remote is in sofa.
Rule for deciding the concealed possessions of the sofa: if the sofa is searched, no; otherwise yes.

This is the line that doesn’t work:

Rule for deciding the concealed possessions of the sofa: if the sofa is searched, no; otherwise yes.

I have also tried examined instead of searched and It doesn’t work.
Thanks in advance :grinning:

I’m fairly new in my adventure into Inform also, but what about the following? It creates the remote as a thing which isn’t in the world until the player examines or searches (which includes looking inside) the sofa. The sofa is now a supporter so that the remote can be on it after discovery.

I also changed the TV part for you, as it may be that your “TV state” replicates the built-in “switched off” and “switched on” properties of the “device” kind.

"Short story" by Gameker

The Lounge is a room. “The lounge is very unorganised. I’m not going to list everything in here.”

The TV is a device in the Lounge. 

The sofa is a supporter in the Lounge.

The remote is a thing.

Before examining or searching the sofa:
	now the remote is on the sofa.
2 Likes

Ok. Thanks

You’ll need to place some kind of limit on that (such as for the first time or when the remote is nowhere), otherwise the remote will mysteriously teleport back to the sofa whenever the sofa is examined, even if the player already picked it up or threw it into an incinerator.

1 Like