Compiling Frotz for Windows

Hello, everyone. I’m trying to do a small modification of Frotz for Windows for a university project. I’m a grad student at Carnegie Mellon (not in computer science, though). But I’m having a very, very hard time compiling Frotz for Windows. First of all, the only compiler I could find that even opens the project in a semblance of usable way is Visual Studio .NET 2003 and then there are still problem ahead.

The regular Frotz compiles very easily on Mac. But Frotz for Windows fails on numerous dependencies. I’ve been able to add most of them, but now it wants a static library called “scaleglx.lib” and I’m still trying to figure out how to get it that. All of this seems to relate to blorb and I’m looking to use Z-machine files only. Is there a way to remove glulx and blorb entirely? The source code is big and I can’t find anything that resembles a precompiler definition to do that.

If anyone can help, or if anyone knows if there’s a manual out there to get Frotz for Windows compiled, please let me know.

Thanks.

ScaleGfx.dll is a separate library that handles the scaling of graphics images, which is used for (very rare) Z-code version 6 games that use graphics, and for the “About this Game” dialog, which may involve a picture. It’s a separate library as it contains two versions of the scaling algorithm, one for non-SSE equiped processors, and one for SSE equipped ones, that is substantially faster. Testing indicated that Visual C++ never provided very good SSE support, so ScaleGfx.dll is compiled with GCC for Windows.

You could hack the source to avoid the use of ScaleGfx.dll, but there’s no easy way other than commenting out bits of code until it works. (Windows Frotz doesn’t support Glulx, but Blorb is more than just Glulx-specific.) The easiest fix is to get ScaleGfx.lib from my GitHub page: https://github.com/DavidKinder/Libraries/tree/master/scalegfx

Thanks, David.