checking player input

I’m writing a game where the player has to interact with a phone. I need them to be able to dial a number, but the only number that I care about them being able to dial is “911.”

So all I need the phone to do is be something that they can use or dial (I created a dial action) and then prompt them to input a number. Then I just need to check that input, and if it is equal to “911” or “9 11” or “9 1 1” or other variations, print some dialog and transition to another level.

Alternatively, maybe they could “talk” to the phone? I don’t want the player to have a list of dialog options though, or any clue about what number they should dial. It should be clear from the context and I don’t want to be hand-holdey.

I’m very new to Inform 7 and I’m really struggling with this. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated!

I think your original method is just fine: a dialing action for DIAL 911 which prints up a canned cutscene.

Off the top of my head (untested), if you only want them to be able to dial 911, you need to provide a sensible response to any other number. If you define your new action like this:

Calling-911 is an action applying to nothing. Understand “911” and “call 911” and “dial 911” as calling-911.

…then you’re not going to get a smooth in-game response if the player types ‘call 411’. You need an action of the form:

Calling-number is an action applying to one number. Understand “[number]” and “call [number]” and “dial [number]” as calling-number.

But I’ll bet you a nickel that’s not the right way to do it, and a quick glance through the TOC for the chapter on Advanced Actions reveals nothing about using numbers as input to actions. There’s an example in the Recipe Book on using a telephone … but it doesn’t seem, on a quick skim-read, to tackle this obviously important issue.

Short answer: I don’t know.

–JA