Character Creator

I’m new to Inform 7, and interactive fiction in general. I’ve decided to start working on a project based in a fantasy world that my friends and I came up with to play rpgs in. I’d like have a character creator that would allow them to customize certain characteristics of their characters like name, gender, attack, defense, mana, starting weapons, etc.
I’ve also run into a problem that is probably pretty easy to fix, I just haven’t figured out how, yet. Is there any way I can hide the contents of a container in the room description?

If you want an open container that doesn’t reveal its contents until you examine it, I’d say the best way probably is not to put anything in it until it is examined for the first time and also to suppress the note about its being ‘empty’ until then:

[code]The Dungeon of Doom is a room.

The carved skull is a container in the Dungeon.
A jewel of infinite value is a thing.

Rule for printing room description details of the carved skull when we have not examined the skull: do nothing.

First carry out examining the skull for the first time: now the jewel is in the skull.
[/code]

As for the character creator based on input from the player, I seem to remember that those things takes some coding work to do.

One easy tool for a character creator would be the Questions or the Simple Chat extension. Both allow you to ask numbered questions.

If you just don’t want the container contents to be part of the main room description, you can make it scenery:

The Kitchen is a room. "This is a room with a crate nearby."

The crate is an open scenery container in the Kitchen.

The rock is in the crate.

Alas, this will not work as expected if the player, for some reason, tries to search (or “look in”) the skull before examining it. A better and simpler alternative might be:

A jewel of infinite value is in the carved skull.
After printing the name of the carved skull: omit contents in listing.