Changing room descriptions based on whether player has entered room before?

Hi all! I’m very new to the Inform, working on my first little game. Finding Inform after years and years of wishing something like this existed is a dream come true! Anyways: I’m trying to have multiple descriptions for rooms that are triggered based on whether or not you’ve been to the room before. In my game, the player wakes up in a mysterious location and asks himself some questions: “Where am I, how did I get here, etc.”

Now, when he travels north or south, he gets to the next room and all is hunky dory but if he returns to the starting location (a necessary backtrack in the plot) The description is the same ‘game start’ text, where he wakes up and asks himself the questions. These backtracks are common through the game, and the narrative is progressed in part by expository events and internal monologues that pop up as a new location is reached for the first time. It really disrupts the flow of the game if these events and monologues appear to repeat every time he walks into a room.

My apologies if this is a common question, I did some searches for ‘new room descriptions’ and a few other things, and wasn’t able to find anything in the forum. If anyone knows a work-around for this, or some recipes in the documentation I could use for reference of this sort of thing, I’d be very grateful.

1 Like

I managed to turn up the “Slightly Wrong” example which uses [if unvisited]...[end if] in the room description. I think that should do what you want?

But yeah, everybody seems to struggle with finding stuff in the documentation, especially at first. There’s a lot of it, and some of it is more than a little bit strangely organized. :slight_smile: And how do you even know what to call things?

2 Likes

Phil,