Changing color of status line

Hi! I’m new to inform 7 (and programming). Appreciate some guidance on how to change the background color of the status line (I know there are some older posts on it but these didn’t work for me as the extensions mentioned are not in use anymore). I am aware of the Glulx Text Styles extension but I’m not too sure how to use it. Does this work for the Quixe interpreter?

Do I change the parameters in the extension itself? I’ve tried setting a custom style called special-style-1 with just values indicated in the font color and background color columns:

Table of Status Line Styles style name (a glulx-style) justification (a text-justification) obliquity (an obliquity) indentation (a number) first-line indentation (a number) boldness (a boldness) fixed width (a fixity) relative size (a number) glulx color (a glulx color value) glulx background color (a glulx color value) special-style-1 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- g-white g-dark-gray

Not sure if I’m doing this right. If the above is correct, what should the code for inform 7 to reflect the above in my status line be?

I’ve tried:
When play begins: set status line color to...

(but intuitively I knew it wasn’t that straightforward.)

Lastly, is there a reference for color values in glulx?

Interestingly, ChatGPT was not helpful either.

Thank you.

3 Likes

I’ve never changed the color of the status line in a game, but I have changed the color of the text using ‘First custom style’ and ‘Second custom style’ before, and I think I’ve found some things you can mess with.

Here’s the code in my game Color the Truth:

When play begins: 
	now left hand status line is "Exits: [exit list]"; 
	now right hand status line is "[location]".

A room can be blocked or unblocked. A room is usually unblocked.

To say exit list: 
	repeat with way running through directions: 
		let place be the room way from the location of the player;
		if place is a room:
			if place is visited: