Capturing Three Features About Player At Start Of Game?

Hi all, newbie here to Inform 7. Love it.

I am using some of the examples and have found ‘Identity Theft’ and ‘Pink or Blue’. The first asks for the player’s name and the second asks if they are male or female. I would like to add a third question (what is the name of your boat).

Unfortunately I haven’t quite got my head around the correct syntax to get this to run properly. So far I have it asking the player if they are male or female and then their name. This is the wrong way round. I’d like to ask name, boat name and then male or female.

This is what I have pasted from the examples. I know this has something to do with conflicts between ‘When play begins’ and ‘move the player to the location;’, but I can’t get my head around it.

Any pointers?

The player's forename is an indexed text that varies. The player's full name is an indexed text that varies.

When play begins:
	now the command prompt is "And what name do you wish to go by? > ".

To decide whether collecting names:
	if the command prompt is "And what name do you wish to go by? > ", yes;
	no.

After reading a command when collecting names:
	if the number of words in the player's command is greater than 5:
		say "[paragraph break]Who are you, a member of the British royal family? No one has that many names. Let's try this again.";
		reject the player's command;
	now the player's full name is the player's command;
	now the player's forename is word number 1 in the player's command;
	now the command prompt is ">";
	say "[paragraph break]";
	move the player to the location; 
	reject the player's command. 

[We also want to postpone the proper beginning of the game until we've gotten the name:]

Instead of looking when collecting names: do nothing.

Rule for printing the banner text when collecting names: do nothing.

Rule for constructing the status line when collecting names: do nothing.

The player's boatname is an indexed text that varies.