Can I use Inform 7 with Wordpress? If so how?

Hi all,

I hear from a knowledgeable source that this is the place to go for wisdom and know-how. Thanks in advance to anyone who has information for me!

My situation and question:

I have a site hosted on “my” server (actually Blue Host’s) using Wordpress.

Would it be possible to have users run an interactive fiction game built in Inform 7 and using something web-based (like Quixe or Parchment?) that would run from the site? If so, how would we do it?

We’d prefer to stay inside the Wordpress environment and existing theme (a child theme of Twenty Ten) if at all possible. But not closed to other possibilities - the main thing is we want this as integrated with our site as possible, and able to be played on the web but site visitors.

I have to keep in mind that my technical know-how is self-taught based on need, and very spotty.

In case it is of any use, the site itself (a satire site) is here: Thatz Effed Up

Again, thanks in advance for any advice, info etc.

Michelle

1 Like

I’m on it!

Looks like you’d have to use an Iframe plugin without modifying WP and/or the template files.

Note: Iframes are evil.

Also Note: There would be zero communication between the game and Wordpress. So WP couldn’t automatically grab a player’s score for a leaderboard or anything.

I think creating a WP template file for Parchment would be the only good way. I haven’t tried it, but I see no reason it couldn’t be made to work.

And as I4L stated, without getting really fancy, there is no communication between WP and the game, so it would just be a stand-alone game.

Interesting idea though… I may give it a shot when I have a bit more time. I have a WP site that could use an IF game for instructional purposes. In fact I had planned on writing one, but running it outside of WP. This could be an interesting challenge.