Body part question

I’m a complete I7 newbie, so please bear with me.

I’m writing an AIF game, but since there doesn’t seem to be any AIF discussion here I’ll be circumspect. It’s a two character game (PC and NPC), and mostly consists of doing various things to various body parts, but the PC and the NPC have some different body parts.

When, for example, the player types “touch my <body part that I don’t have>,” I want the game to print, “You don’t have one of those” and stop the action. At present, it automatically assumes that since the PC doesn’t have one, the body part in question must belong to the NPC, and goes from there. All of my attempts to stop this via various rules have failed, I think because the game makes this switch before it gets to any “instead” or “before” rules.

Ideally, I would also like to be able to have to player type "touch ", no possessive, and have the game understand it as the NPC’s body part, but it’s not a big problem if that doesn’t work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The easiest way is to create a body part object for the player (“my earlobe”), and then have rules like:

Instead of doing anything to my earlobe:
    say "You don't have one of those."

Does the player mean doing something with my earlobe:
    it is very unlikely.

(Not tested – you may have to fiddle with object names, because “my” is treated as a pronoun.)

The only thing about that is that you will get (maybe unnecessary) clarifications of the parser’s choice, along the lines of

> X EARLOBE
(his earlobe)
Aural sexy.

So you might want to consider writing a rule for clarifying the parser’s choice of earlobes (etc), telling it to do nothing. You’ll probably want one or more classes of body part, presumably.

Thank you, that’s very helpful–it seems to work just fine.